St Paul’s Catholic School Latest News

Students Celebrate KS5 Awards

Students at KS5 Awards with Professor Lynette Ryals

Former Post 16 students returned to St Paul’s on 7th January for an award ceremony to celebrate their achievements during the 2018/19 academic year.  They were joined by guest of honour, Professor Lynette Ryals OBE, Pro-Vice Chancellor of Cranfield University and Chief Executive of MK:U.

The awards were given for sustained effort in subject areas and in Year Groups, and a number of special recognition awards were presented too.

Notable winners included Lucas Churchill, who received the Waitrose Cup for Excellence for being the student who achieved the highest exam results.  Lucas also won the subject prize for History. His dedication and perseverance secured him a place to study History at Homerton College, Cambridge, making him the first student from St Paul’s to be admitted to Cambridge for over a decade.  

Keren Kassanda, who is now studying Philosophy and French at Balliol College, Oxford, won the Maureen Grant Award for the student who has overcome great challenges to be successful.  Keren, who was barely able to speak English, left the civil war-torn Democratic Republic of Congo in 2013 and was put into foster care by Milton Keynes Council shortly afterwards. At St Paul’s she gained four high grade A-Levels and she also won subject awards for Religious Education and Modern Foreign Languages at the ceremony.

The Contribution Beyond The Curriculum Award for outstanding work in an area of school life was presented to Kaelyn Doyle. In his citation Kaelyn was described as the perfect role model for our school motto of ‘Love, Serve and Do the Best that is Possible’. He was an outstanding senior ambassador for the school, was always first to offer help and showed exceptional leadership skills.

Steffany Parkin won the prize for her outstanding Extended Project Qualification. Her Shakespearian script artfully combined her wide ranging research with the feedback that she gained through her work with her target audience. Her play was enjoyed at a reading to Year 12 students and was also complimented by a theatre director. Steffany also won a subject prize for Geography.

In addition to picking up subject prizes for Music and for English Language and Literature, Keira Baird also gave a musical performance.

Commenting on the awards evening, Mrs Jo-Anne Hoarty, Headteacher, said: “2018/19 was a very successful year for St Paul’s and we are very proud to recognise the achievements of all the exceptional students who contributed to this success.  All of our nominees and winners should be very proud of their achievements and it was wonderful to see so many of them again and to learn about how they are getting on in higher education or the workplace.”

You can see a full list of winners below:


Samuel Huxtable

Business Studies:

Priscilla Philips

Computer Science:

Ryan Bouchier

Design and Technology:

Oreoluwa Osobu


Amber Sutcliffe


Liam Jordan

English as an Additional Language:

Fredericks Hadi

English: Language and Literature:

Kiera Baird

English: Literature:

Mirranda Cena

Film Studies:

Willow Horner


Steffany Parkin

Health and Social Care:

Natalie Ameyaa


Lucas Churchill

Learning Support:

Christopher Anokye


Mark Mutinda

Modern Foreign Language:

Keren Kassanda


Kiera Baird


Leonardo Moss

Physical Education:

Jordan Osinloye


Liam Jordan


Jordan Osinloye

Religious Education:

Keren Kassanda


Natalie Ameyaa


Julie Rajkumar

Chaplaincy Support:

Kenneth Tolentino

Extended Project Qualification:

Steffany Parkin

Duke of Edinburgh Awards:


Chike Izuogu

Samuel Smith


Kaelyn Doyle

Isobel Richardson

Samuel Smith

Year 12 Leader’s Award:

Sarafina Otis

Year 13 Leader’s Award:

Jordan Osinloye

Contribution Beyond The Curriculum:

Kaelyn Doyle

Maureen Grant Award:

Keren Kassanda

Waitrose Cup For Excellence:

Lucas Churchill

Site Menu